Home / Signals™ / 航标(SIGNALS)头条 – 2022年8月2日

航标(SIGNALS)头条 – 2022年8月2日

联邦海事委员会在2022 年 7 月 28 日举行会议

美国联邦海事委员会于2022年7月28日举行公开和非公开会议, 讨论 2022年海上运输改革法案   (OSRA-2022) 。

委员会工作人员报告说,他们正在迅速采取行动,并在法案提供的时间表内实施新法律的许多规定。

委员会预计将在未来几个月发布两项规则制定。第一项规则制定将解决新法律禁止在可用于出口时无理拒绝货舱订舱的规定。第二个规则制定将进一步定义禁止的行为,即公共承运人、海运码头运营商、托运人和海运中间人在评估滞期费或滞箱费方面不可以做的行为,包括应当向谁收取滞箱费、滞期费或其他类似的集装箱费用.

委员会已经意识到,许多海运公共承运人尚未开始遵守滞港费和滞箱费发票的法律规定,并且可能会延迟出具滞港费和滞箱费发票直到法案正式开始生效。迄今为止,还没有任何与违反新法律规定下的滞箱费和滞期费发票而有关的处罚。

此处阅读2022 年海上运输改革法案的完整文本。下一次委员会会议时间尚未宣布。

联邦海事委员会宣布新的执法结构

美国联邦海事委员会宣布, 从2022年7月29日起,将其调查和起诉部门合并成一个新成立的部门:执法、调查和合规局   (BEIC)。

新成立的 BEIC 将由具有监管、起诉和调查经验的高级行政服务部的一名律师领导。委员会常务董事卢西尔马文也将担任代理董事,直至聘用到常任董事。

委员会丹尼尔马菲主席说到:“严格执行航运法是联邦海事委员会发挥效力的关键。这次重组得到了所有五名专员的支持,并创建了一个更适合满足总统和国会赋予该机构优先执行的任务的机构。具体来说,它增强了联邦海事委员会密切审查海运公司和海运码头运营商行为的能力,以确保美国进出口商遵守法律和公平,”

BEIC 将分为三个部分:执法办公室、调查办公室和合规办公室。这些办公室将由办公室主任领导。 BEIC 主任将监督和管理三个办公室的活动,并由一名协助项目管理的副主任提供支持。 BEIC 主任将向常务董事汇报。

作为重组机构的一部分,委员会正在将地区代表的职位转变为调查员,并将他们归入调查办公室名下。此外,委员会将增加其在工作人员中的调查员人数。调查人员现在将专注于执法活动,以前由地区代表处理的公共外展职能将由委员会的消费者事务和争议解决服务办公室处理,作为其更广泛的公共援助工作的一部分。

联邦海事委员会就滞箱费和滞港费发布行业咨询

美国联邦海事委员会发布了一份行业咨询报告,   表示将针对任何违反2022年海运改革法案的义务或规避国会明确指引的行为采取执法行动。   具体而言,该咨询报告提醒从事船舶运营的公共承运人,他们必须遵守美国法典46 章第 41104(d)款的规定,该法案于2022年6月16日生效,当时拜登总统签署了该法律。

我司收到了许多无船承运人的投诉,他们抱怨船公司扣留滞期费和滞期费账单,并计划在未来出具这些账单。无船承运人担心收到这些账单将时,他们已经给收货人放货,他们几乎没有办法或没有筹码来为这些迟交的发票寻求收款。另一方面,船公司可能会通过未来的运输继续对大多数无船承运人施加影响。

联邦海事委员会发布关于收费投诉的指南

美国联邦海事委员会发布了 行业咨询,以指导托运人寻求对他们认为可能不符合  2022 年远洋运输改革法案的收费提出争议。 该法案于2022年6月16日成为法律,新的滞港费和滞期费发票要求也于同一天生效。

滞港费和滞期费发票现在必须包含以下 13 项详细信息:

(A) 提供集装箱的日期。

(B) 卸货港。

(C) 集装箱编号。

(D) 对于出口货物,最早的退货日期。

(E) 允许的免收费时间(以天为单位)。

(F) 免费时间的开始日期。

(G) 免费时间的结束日期。

(H) 每日费率所依据的适用滞箱费或滞期费规则。

(I) 适用规则的适用费率或费率。

(J) 应付总额。

(K) 电子邮件、电话号码或其他适当的联系信息,用于提出问题或请求减免费用。

(L) 声明指控符合联邦海事委员会关于滞箱和滞期费的任何规则。

(M) 公共承运人的履约行为没有导致或促成产生发票费用的声明。

如果滞期费和滞港费发票未包含上述信息,被收费方则无需支付这些费用。托运人也可以向联邦海事委员会提出收费投诉。要向委员会提出收费投诉,托运人应:

  • 确定公共承运人
  • 确定具体涉嫌违反 46 U.S.C. §§ 41102 和/或 41104(a)
  • 酌情收集并提交支持文件,包括:
    • 发票
    • 提单编号
    • 是否已支付费用的证据
  • 确认有争议的费用是在 2022 年 6 月 16 日或之后发生的- 法案颁布时日
  • 通过一封电子邮件(如果可能)将所有相关材料提交至chargecomplaints@fmc.gov

委员会将展开调查,最终可能发出民事处罚和退还已付费用的命令。该指南阐明,这些调查是出于执法目的,并不构成作为投诉人的代理人或退款保证。

如果托运人想要追究和控制他们自己的法律案件,包括在他们自己的律师的协助下,如果需要,他们可以通过向委员会提出正式非正式的投诉来实现。托运人也可以通过联系消费者事务和争议解决办公室寻求替代的争议解决服务。

联邦海事委员会收到两份新的正式投诉

美国联邦海事委员会  于2022年7月收到两起新的正式投诉,指控其违反了 美国航运法和 联邦海事委员会的规则。

非法收取费用:总部位于加利福尼亚州的进口商 Goforth & Marti (GM) 对总部位于香港的无船承运人 HSIN Silk Road Shipping Limited (HSIN) 提出正式投诉,指控 HSIN 违反了美国航运法,未能建立、遵守和执行与接收、处理、储存和交付财产有关的公正合理的做法。具体而言,Goforth & Marti声称,在载运货物的船只因拥堵而在洛杉矶港延误后,它被迫支付 74,000 美元的停泊费和与码头相关的仓储费以收取货物。

Goforth & Marti要求美国联邦海事委员会命令 HSIN 支付赔偿及利息和律师费以及委员会认为适当的任何其他赔偿。

非法收取滞箱费和滞港费:总部位于纽约的冷藏食品进口商 Bakerly, LLC 对总部位于新泽西的无船承运人 Seafrigo USA (Seafrigo) 提出正式投诉,指控 Seafrigo 违反了美国航运法和联邦海事委员会的规则,收取门点货物的滞港费和滞期费,并错误开具和重复开具发票。具体来说,Bakerly 声称 Seafrigo 为 Seafrigo 负责及时取回和退回集装箱的门点运输开具了总额至少为 2,973,475 美元的滞箱费和滞港费发票。 Bakerly 还声称,Seafrigo 开具了多张不准确的滞箱费和滞港费发票,这使 Bakerly 无法核实和支付准确的费用。

Bakerly 要求美国联邦海事委员会命令 Seafrigo 停止向 Bakerly 收取滞箱费和滞期费,并退还 Bakerly 为有争议的上门装运支付的所有滞箱费和滞港费。此外,Bakerly 要求 Seafrigo 支付合理的律师费以及委员会认为根据 46 U.S.C. § 41305适当的任何其他赔偿,包括不超过实际伤害金额两倍的赔偿。

美国联邦海事委员会审查大洋网络快递和解协议

美国联邦海事委员会宣布将审查  大洋网络快递和 美国联邦海事委员会 的 执法局 之间最近达成的和解协议。

大洋网络快递和执法局的和解获得了联邦海事委员会的行政法法官的初步裁决,批准对大洋网络快递涉嫌过度广泛使用提单条款“货主”一词定义的完全保密和解。据称,被告使用其提单中包含的“货主”一词来向从未与之签订合同的各方索取费用。和解条款,包括大洋网络快递支付的任何金额,都是保密的。 联邦海事委员会的执法局要求公开所有和解的全文,但行政法法官以“特殊情况”为由批准了这项机密和解。

联邦海事委员会于 2022 年 7 月 15 日发布了一份委员会决定审查的通知。行政法官于 2022 年 6 月 28 日发布的批准这项保密和解的初步决定,目前正在由所有五名联邦海事委员会专员进行审查。

泛太平洋稳定运价组织东行航线承运人登记了2022年8月15日至2022年9月1日生效的普通运价调整附加费

一些泛太平洋稳定运价协议组织成员更新了运价本, 包括从2022年8月15日生效的普通运价调整费。这包括中远公司、长荣海运公司、赫伯罗特公司、现代商船公司、大洋网络快递、阳明海运和以星海运。下述表格是40尺箱标箱的收费标准,其它箱型收费标准按一般折算公式计算。8月15日生效的普通运价调整费是2022年以来东亚/美国航线第16次的普通运价调整费。

泛太平洋稳定运价组织东行航线(亚洲至美国)
2022年8月15日生效的
普通运价调整费
承运人
美元/每40尺标箱
中远海运公司(注1) 1000
长荣海运公司(注2) 1000 / 2000
赫伯罗特公司 1500
现代商船公司(注3) 1000 / 2000
大洋网络快递 1000
阳明海运(注4) 1000 / 2000
以星海运 1000

注解 1:中远公司的普通运价调整费只适用服务合同项下的货运。

注解 2:长荣海运对于干货收费标准为每40尺标箱1000美元;冷冻货收费每40尺标箱2000美元.其他箱型按公式计算征收

注解 3:现代海运的普通运价调整费为:西部港口、东部港口和海湾港口货运每40尺标箱1000美元;其他内陆点和小陆桥的货运,普通运价调整费为每40尺标箱2000美元 .其他箱型按公式计算征收。

注解 4:阳明海运的普通运价调整费为:西部港口、东部港口和海湾港口货运每40尺标箱1000美元;其他内陆点和小陆桥的货运,普通运价调整费为每40尺标箱2000美元 .其他箱型按公式计算征收。

以下一些成员更新了运价本, 包括2022年9月1日生效的普通运价调整费。这包括法国达飞船公司、长荣海运公司、赫伯罗特公司、现代商船公司、大洋网络快递、阳明海运以及以星船务。每一成员自行定价,制定运价本.下述表格是40尺标箱的收费标准,其它箱型收费标准按一般折算公式计算。2022年9月1日生效的普通运价调整费是2022年以来东亚/美国航线第17次的普通运价调整费。

泛太平洋稳定运价组织东行航线(亚洲至美国)
2022年9月1日生效的
普通运价调整费
承运人
美元/每40尺标箱
中远海运公司(注1) 1000
长荣海运公司(注2) 1000 / 2000
赫伯罗特公司 1500
现代商船公司(注3) 1000 / 2000
大洋网络快递 1000
阳明海运(注4) 1000 / 2000
以星海运 1000

注解 1:中远公司的普通运价调整费只适用服务合同项下的货运。

注解 2:长荣海运对于干货收费标准为每40尺标箱1000美元;冷冻货收费每40尺标箱2000美元.其他箱型按公式计算征收。

注解 3:现代海运的普通运价调整费为:西部港口、东部港口和海湾港口货运每40尺标箱1000美元;其他内陆点和小陆桥的货运,普通运价调整费为每40尺标箱2000美元 .其他箱型按公式计算征收。

注解 4:阳明海运的普通运价调整费为:西部港口、东部港口和海湾港口货运每40尺标箱1000美元;其他内陆点和小陆桥的货运,普通运价调整费为每40尺标箱2000美元 .其他箱型按公式计算征收。

 

 

 

Back
to top

Celebrating 45 Years of Navigating the Regulatory Seas

Need help with U.S. Federal Maritime Commission compliance?

Get in touch

Home / Signals™ / Signals™ Headlines – August 2, 2022

Signals™ Headlines - August 2, 2022

Federal Maritime Commission Meeting – July 28, 2022

The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) met on July 28, 2022 in open and closed session to discuss the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 2022 (OSRA-2022). Commission staff reported that they are moving quickly and within the timelines provided by OSRA-2022 to implement the new law’s many provisions.

The Commission expects to release two rulemakings in the coming months. The first rulemaking will tackle the new law’s prohibition on unreasonable refusal of cargo space accommodations when available for exports. The second rulemaking will further define prohibited practices by common carriers, marine terminal operators, shippers, and ocean transportation intermediaries regarding the assessment of demurrage or detention charges, including which parties may be appropriately billed for any demurrage, detention, or other similar per container charges. 

The Commission appears aware that many ocean common carriers are not yet in compliance with the law’s detention and demurrage invoicing provisions and may be delaying detention and demurrage invoicing until they come into compliance. So far no penalties have been issued in connection with detention and demurrage invoicing under the new law.

Read the complete text of OSRA-22 here. The next Commission meeting has not yet been announced.

FMC Announces New Enforcement Structure


The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) announced that it is reorganizing its investigative and prosecutorial functions by consolidating them into a newly created Bureau of Enforcement, Investigations, and Compliance (BEIC) effective July 29, 2022.

The newly established BEIC will be headed by an attorney in the Senior Executive Service with regulatory, prosecutorial, and investigatory experience. The Commission’s Managing Director, Lucille Marvin, will also serve as Acting Director until a permanent Director is hired.

“Robust enforcement of the Shipping Act is absolutely key to the effectiveness of the Federal Maritime Commission. This reorganization has the support of all five Commissioners and creates a structure better suited to meeting the mandate the President and Congress have given this agency to prioritize enforcement. Specifically, it enhances FMC’s capacity to closely scrutinize the conduct of the ocean carrier companies and marine terminal operators to ensure compliance with the law and fairness for American importers and exporters,” said FMC Chairman Daniel Maffei.

The BEIC will be divided into three sections:  the Office of Enforcement, the Office of Investigations, and the Office of Compliance. These offices will each be led by an Office Director. The BEIC Director will supervise and manage the activities of the three offices and will be supported by a Deputy Director who will assist with program management. The BEIC Director will report to the Managing Director.

As part of the reorganization, the Commission is converting the positions of Area Representatives to Investigators, placing them in the Office of Investigations. Additionally, the Commission will increase the number of investigators it has on staff. Investigators will now focus exclusively on enforcement activity and the public outreach function formerly handled by the Area Representative role will be handled by the Commission’s Office of Consumer Affairs and Dispute Resolution Services as part of their broader public assistance work.

FMC Issues Industry Advisory on Coercive Detention & Demurrage


The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) issued an Industry Advisory stating that it will pursue enforcement action against any conduct perceived to establish open-ended obligations or include coercive tactics circumventing the clear direction of Congress as reflected in the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 2022 (OSRA-2022). Specifically, the Advisory reminded vessel-operating common carriers (VOCCs) that they are required to comply with the demurrage and detention billing practices contained at 46 U.S.C. 41104(d), which went into effect on June 16, 2022 when President Biden signed the law into effect.

DPI has heard from numerous non-vessel-operating common carriers (NVOCCs) complaining of VOCCs withholding detention and demurrage bills with plans to issue the bills at a later undisclosed date . NVOCCs fear that these bills will come due when they have already released cargo to consignees and they will have little or no leverage to seek payment for these late invoices. The VOCCs, on the other hand, will likely continue to have leverage over most NVOCCs through ongoing shipments.

FMC Issues Guidance on Charge Complaints

The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) issued an Industry Advisory to guide shippers seeking to dispute charges assessed that they believe may not comply with the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 2022 (OSRA-2022). OSRA-2022 became law on June 16, 2022 and new invoicing requirements for detention and demurrage went into effect the same day. Invoices for detention and demurrage must now contain the following 13 details:

(A) Date that container is made available.

(B) The port of discharge.

(C) The container number or numbers.

(D) For exported shipments, the earliest return date.

(E) The allowed free time in days.

(F) The start date of free time.

(G) The end date of free time.

(H) The applicable detention or demurrage rule on which the daily rate is based.

(I) The applicable rate or rates per the applicable rule.

(J) The total amount due.

(K) The email, telephone number, or other appropriate contact information for questions or requests for mitigation of fees.

(L) A statement that the charges are consistent with any of the Federal Maritime Commission’s rules with respect to detention and demurrage.

(M) A statement that the common carrier’s performance did not cause or contribute to the underlying invoiced charges.

If invoices for detention and demurrage do not include the above information, the obligation to pay these charges is eliminated for the charged party. A shipper may also file a charge complaint with the FMC. To file a charge complaint with the Commission, shippers should:

  • Identify the common carrier
  • Identify the specific alleged violations of 46 U.S.C. §§ 41102 and/or 41104(a)
  • Gather and submit supporting documentation, as appropriate, including:
    • Invoices
    • Bill of Lading Numbers
    • Evidence of whether the charge(s) have been paid
  • Confirm that the disputed charge was incurred on or after June 16, 2022 – the enactment of OSRA-2022
  • Submit all relevant materials in one email (if possible) to chargecomplaints@fmc.gov

The Commission will initiate an investigation, which could ultimately result in a civil penalty and order for a refund of charges paid. The guidance clarifies that these investigations are for law enforcement purposes and do not constitute representation as attorney for the complainant or a guarantee of refunds.

If a shipper would like to pursue and control their own legal case, including with the assistance of their own attorney, if so desired, they may do so by filing a formal or informal complaint with the Commission. Shippers may also seek alternative dispute resolution services by contacting the Office of Consumer Affairs and Dispute Resolution.

FMC Receives Two New Formal Complaints


The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) received two new formal complaints in July 2022 alleging violations of the U.S. Shipping Act and FMC regulations. 

Unlawful Fees:  Goforth & Marti (GM), a California-based importer, filed a formal complaint against HSIN Silk Road Shipping Limited (HSIN), a Hong Kong-based non-vessel operating common carrier, alleging that HSIN violated the U.S. Shipping Act and FMC regulations by failing to establish, observe, and enforce just and reasonable practices related to receiving, handling, storing, and delivering property. Specifically, GM alleges that it was forced to pay US$ 74,000 in berthing and terminal-related storage fees to obtain shipments after the vessel carrying them was delayed at the Port of Los Angeles due to congestion.

GM requested that the FMC order HSIN to pay reparations with interest and attorney fees along with any other relief that the Commission deems proper.

Unlawful Detention & Demurrage:  Bakerly, LLC, a New York-based importer of refrigerated foods, filed a formal complaint against Seafrigo USA (Seafrigo), a New Jersey-based non-vessel operating common carrier, alleging that Seafrigo violated the U.S. Shipping Act and FMC regulations by charging detention and demurrage for door shipments and issuing faulty and duplicative invoices. Specifically, Bakerly alleges that Seafrigo issued detention and demurrage invoices totaling at least US$ 2,973,475 for door shipments for which Seafrigo was responsible for timely container retrieval and return. Bakerly also alleges that Seafrigo issued multiple and inaccurate invoices for detention and demurrage charges which prevented Bakerly from verifying and paying accurate charges. 

Bakerly requested that the FMC order Seafrigo to cease collection of detention and demurrage fees from Bakerly and refund Bakerly for all detention and demurrage charges paid for the door shipments at issue. Additionally, Bakerly requested that Seafrigo pay reasonable attorney fees along with any other relief that the Commission deems proper, including reparations not to exceed twice the amount of the actual injury pursuant to 46 U.S.C. § 41305.

FMC to Review ONE Settlement


The U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) announced that it will review a recent settlement agreement reached between Ocean Network Express Pte. Ltd. (ONE) and the FMC’s Bureau of Enforcement (BOE). 

ONE and the BOE obtained an Initial Decision from an FMC Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) approving a fully confidential settlement of ONE’s alleged overly broad use of the term merchant. ONE allegedly used the term merchant contained in its Bills of Lading to seek payment for charges from parties that ONE was not in contractual privity with. The terms of the settlement, including any amounts paid by ONE, are confidential. FMC’s rules require that the full text of all settlements be made public, however the ALJ approved this confidential settlement citing “unique circumstances.”

The full Commission issued a Notice of Commission Determination to Review on July 15, 2022. The ALJ’s Initial Decision approving this confidential settlement, which was issued on June 28, 2022, is now under review by all five FMC Commissioners. 

Transpacific Eastbound Carriers File GRIs Effective August 15, 2022 & September 1, 2022

Several leading carriers serving the Transpacific container trades have recently updated their respective tariffs to include new General Rate Increases (GRIs) effective August 15, 2022, including COSCO, Evergreen, Hapag Lloyd, HMM Company Limited, Ocean Network Express (ONE), Yang Ming, and ZIM. See table below for GRI amounts per 40ft container; GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula. The August 15th GRIs will be the sixteenth GRI of 2022 for the East Asia/USA trade lane.

TRANSPACIFIC EASTBOUND (Asia to USA)
GENERAL RATE INCREASE (GRI)
Effective  August 15, 2022
Carrier
in USD, per 40ft ctr
COSCO (note 1) 1000
Evergreen (note 2) 1000 / 2000
Hapag Lloyd 1500
HMM (note 3) 1000 / 2000
ONE 1000
Yang Ming (note 4) 1000 / 2000
ZIM 1000

NOTE 1:  COSCO GRIs apply on all cargo moving under service contracts only.

NOTE 2:  Evergreen GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft dry container for dry cargo, and USD 2000 per reefer container. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

NOTE 3:  HMM GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations USWC, USEC, US Gulf coast, and USD 2000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations IPI, MLB, RIPI. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

NOTE 4:  Yang Ming GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations USWC, USEC, US Gulf coast, and USD 2000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations IPI, MLB, RIPI. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

Some carriers also updated their tariffs to include new General Rate Increases (GRIs) effective September 1, 2022, including COSCO, Evergreen, Hapag Lloyd, HMM Company Limited, Ocean Network Express (ONE), Yang Ming, and ZIM. See table below for GRI amounts per 40ft container; GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula. The September 1st GRIs will be the seventeenth GRI of 2022 for the East Asia/USA trade lane.

TRANSPACIFIC EASTBOUND (Asia to USA)
GENERAL RATE INCREASE (GRI)
Effective  September 1, 2022
Carrier
in USD, per 40ft ctr
COSCO (note 1) 1000
Evergreen (note 2) 1000 / 2000
Hapag Lloyd 1500
HMM (note 3) 1000 / 2000
ONE 1000
Yang Ming (note 4) 1000 / 2000
ZIM 1000

NOTE 1:  COSCO GRIs apply on all cargo moving under service contracts only.

 NOTE 2:  Evergreen GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft dry container for dry cargo, and USD 2000 per reefer container. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

NOTE 3:  HMM GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations USWC, USEC, US Gulf coast, and USD 2000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations IPI, MLB, RIPI. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

NOTE 4:  Yang Ming GRIs will be USD 1000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations USWC, USEC, US Gulf coast, and USD 2000 per 40ft container for cargo to destinations IPI, MLB, RIPI. GRI amounts for all other container sizes are as per formula.

The information contained herein is obtained from reliable sources. It is subject to change at any time, however, depending on changes in laws and regulations. While we continually attempt to monitor this information, we do not guarantee its accuracy and are not responsible for any damages suffered by any party in reliance on it.

Back
to top

Celebrating 45 Years of Navigating the Regulatory Seas

Need help with U.S. Federal Maritime Commission compliance?

Get in touch